X
Thursday , 27/02/2020
X
Thursday , 27/02/2020
Rajab , 4 , 1441
What is arbitration?
What Is Arbitration
Definition of Arbitration​

Arbitration is defined as follows: It's an agreement between / among parties with a certain legal contractual or non-contractual relationship to dispose of such dispute (s) which actually arose or could arise between / among them, where such arbitration shall be conducted by persons chosen as arbitrators, where the litigants choose the arbitrators or they can appoint an arbitrational panel , or any of the permanent arbitration panels to organize the arbitration process as per the rules or bylaws applicable at such panels or centers.

Another group of jurists tend to define of arbitration as: “a special judicial system, where the litigating parties choose their judges, and appoint them under a written agreement to settle the disputes that could arise or that actually arose between / among them in respect to their contractual or non-contractual relationship which may be disposed of through arbitration, as per law, justice, and issuance of a judicial award binding to them.”

Therefore, arbitration is a legal channel provided by law to dispose of the disputes agreed to be referred to arbitration as a system parallel to judiciary system, however with further advantages, where eventually an award is ruled binding the litigating parties and settling the dispute which arose between / among them, that is like judiciary way but faster and easier procedures.

Arbitration depends on the litigating parties’ wills, because the wills of parties dominate the whole arbitration system, starting with the agreement to the principle itself, choosing the arbitrators and their numbers and powers, naming the panel body to supervise the arbitration and setting the applicable procedures towards disposing of the dispute and the law governing such dispute, which makes the litigating parties feel that they are taking part in the arbitration process.

This has increased the number of the individuals, institutions, and companies resorting to arbitration as a way to have their disputes settled, especially in the transactions and deals of an international nature, where the judge is foreign for all or some parties, likewise for the law governing the dispute whether on the subject or procedures.

Although the arbitration is based on the litigating parties’ wills, and while these wills create the arbitration and it exist, still these wills are not enough, because law should also acknowledge the litigants’ agreement. In other words, if law does not provide for arbitration and execution of arbitrators’ awards, the wills of the litigants will not be sufficient for application of arbitration.

ADVANTAGES OF ARBITRATION

  1. ARBITRATION AWARDS ARE CONCLUSIVE AND FINAL
    Arbitration awards are binding and effective with the same degree of being final and conclusive as the judgments ruled at courts. As the UAE takes part in various bilateral and regional arbitration treaties, the arbitration awards issued inside the UAE are deemed effective in a number of Arab and neighboring countries in addition to other countries across the world, especially after the UAE’s joining New York Convention of 1958 related to recognition and execution of foreign arbitration awards.
  2. UNBIASED
    In absence of an international court for settling the commercial disputes, the litigants may resort to local courts in the plaintiff or respondent’s domicile, which means limited options available in comparison with arbitration which allows absolute unbiased arbitrational panel which consequently eliminates the likelihood of explicit or implicit partiality in favor of a certain litigant, because such litigating parties have the right to specify the track of procedures, language of arbitration and appointment of arbitrators of any nationality as they may wish.
  3. PROMPTNESS
    Undoubtedly, arbitration is considered as a way that is faster than the litigation procedures before courts in terms of solving and settling such disputes. Therefore, the commercial disputants consider arbitration as the best resort where the parties can control the track of arbitration procedures, in addition to being able to specify the time schedule to be taken by such arbitration to reach the final binding award.
  4. CONFIDENTIALITY
    Arbitration ensures the required confidentiality required by the disputing parties, and avoiding the negative effects of the public procedures of litigation, as arbitration sessions are held secretly, unless the parties agree otherwise. The Center’s employees or arbitrators appointed to settle such disputes shall not disclose any details of the arbitration cases.
  5. COST EFFECTIVE
    Arbitration is considered as less costly than litigation; even in the complicated international commercial disputes, because the arbitration stages and procedures are shorter than those of litigation, which consequently reduce the expenses and costs.
  6. ARBITRATORS’ QUALIFICATION
    Arbitration ensures quality. Through the judicial procedures, the judge may not be specialized in the subject matter of the dispute. So, there is need to appoint an expert on such subject matter. However, by arbitration, the litigants may directly appoint specialized arbitrators in the field of the dispute.
  7. PARTIES’ INDEPENDENCY
    Arbitration gives the concerned parties freedom to specify the track of arbitration procedures, by agreeing to the main procedural matters according to which they wish the arbitration procedures to run, whether by way of submitting memos or by hearing sessions. Also, the parties may specify some other points and matters such as the prevailing and applicable law, venue of arbitration, number of arbitrators, and fields of their specializations.
​​

عربي
X
الأحد , 16/12/2018
ما هو التحكيم ؟
ما هو التحكيم
التعريف بالتحكيم

يُعرَّف التحكيم بأنه إتفاق أطراف علاقة قانونية معينة عقدية أو غير عقدية على أن يتم الفصل في المنازعة التي ثارت بينهم بالفعل أو التي يحتمل أن تثور ، عن طريق أشخاص يتم إختيارهم كمحكمين ، حيث يتولى الأطراف تحديد أشخاص المحكمين أو أن يعهدوا لهيئة تحكيم ، أو إحدى هيئات التحكيم الدائمة أن تتولى تنظيم عملية التحكيم وفقاً للقواعد أو اللوائح الخاصة بهذه الهيئات أو المراكز .

ويتجه فريق آخر من الفقه إلى تعريف التحكيم بأنه "نظام قضائي خاص ، يختار فيه الأطراف قضاتهم ، ويعهدون إليهم بمقتضى إتفاق مكتوب ، بمهمة تسوية المنازعات التي قد تنشأ أو نشأت بالفعل بينهم بخصوص علاقاتهم التعاقدية أو غير التعاقدية والتي يجوز حسمها بطريق التحكيم ، وفقاً لمقتضيات القانون والعدالة وإصدار قرار قضائي ملزم لهم" .

فالتحكيم إذن هو عبارة عن وسيلة قانونية أفسح المشرع لها المجال للفصل في المنازعات المتفق على عرضها على التحكيم كنظام موازٍ للقضاء لا يخلو من مزايا ، حيث ينتهي إلى حكم يتقيد به الفرقاء ويؤدي إلى حسم النزاع الذي شجر بينهم ، شأنه في ذلك شأن القضاء ولكن بسرعة ملحوظة وبقدر أقل من الجهد.

والتحكيم قوامه إرادة الأطراف ، إذ تهيمن هذه الإرادة على نظام التحكيم بأكمله بدءً من الإتفاق على المبدأ ذاته ، مروراً باختيار المحكمين وتحديد عددهم وإختصاصهم ، وتحديد الجهة التي تتولى الإشراف على التحكيم وتحديد الإجراءات واجبة التطبيق ، والواجب إتباعها لحل النزاع ، والقانون الذي يحكم ذلك النزاع ، مما يُشعر الأطراف بأنهم يشاركون في عملية التحكيم .

وقد أدى ذلك كله إلى تزايد إقبال الأفراد والمؤسسات والشركات على اللجوء إلى التحكيم كأسلوب لحل منازعاتهم ، خاصة في مجال المعاملات ذات الطابع الدولي ، حيث يكون القاضي أجنبي عن كل أو بعض الأطراف ، وكذلك شأن القانون الذي يحكم النزاع سواء كان يحكم موضوعه أو إجراءاته .

ورغم أن التحكيم ينشأ عن إرادة الخصوم ، وأن هذه الإرادة هي التي تخلق التحكيم وهي قوام وجوده ، إلا أنها تعتبر غير كافية ، إذ يتعين على المشرع أيضاً أن يُقر إتفاق الخصوم، وبعبارة أخرى ، إذا لم ينص المشرِّع على جواز التحكيم وجواز تنفيذ أحكام المحكمين فان.

مميزات التحكيم

  1. قرارات التحكيم قطعية و نهائية
    تتسم قرارات التحكيم بصفة الإلزام والنفاذ بنفس درجة النهائية والإلزام التي تتمتع بها الأحكام الصادرة عن المحاكم. ونظراً لمشاركة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في مختلف معاهدات التحكيم الثنائية والإقليمية فان قرارات التحكيم الصادرة داخل الدولة تعتبر نافذة في عدد كبير من الدول العربية المجاورة إضافة إلى بلدان أخرى حول العالم، خاصة بعد انضمام دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى اتفاقية نيويورك لسنة 1958 الخاصة بالاعتراف  وتنفيذ أحكام التحكيم الأجنبية .
  2. الحيادية
    في غياب محكمة دولية لتسوية النزاعات التجارية قد يضطر أطراف التقاضي للجوء التحكيم الى المحاكم المحلية في موطن المدعي أو المدعى مما يعني محدودية الخيارات المتوفرة مقارنة بالتحكيم الذي يتيح امكانية إيجاد هيئة محكمين محايدة تماما مما يبعد تماما احتمال التحيز الفعلي أو الضمني لأحد أطراف النزاع ، اذ ان للأطراف حق تحديد مسار إجراءات ولغة التحكيم وتعيين المحكمين من أي جنسية شاءوا.
  3. السرعة
    التحكيم وسيلة سريعة لحل النزاعات أسرع من إجراءات التقاضي أمام المحاكم، لذا يعتبر التحكيم الملاذ الأفضل لأطراف النزاع التجاري حيث يكون باستطاعة الأطراف التحكم في مسار إجراءات التحكيم، كما يمكن للأطراف تحديد الجدول الزمني الذي يجب أن يستغرقه التحكيم وصولا إلى القرار النهائي الملزم.
  4. السرية
     يضمن التحكيم السرية المطلوبة من قبل أطراف النزاع وتفادي الآثار السلبية المصاحبة غالباً لعلانية إجراءات التقاضي، حيث تنعقد جلسات التحكيم في إطار من السرية ما لم يتفق الأطراف على خلاف ذلك. ولا يجوز لموظفي المركز أو المحكمين المعينين للفصل بالنزاع أن يفشوا تفاصيل دعاوى التحكيم.
  5. قلة التكلفة
     يعتبر التحكيم اقل تكلفة مقارنة بالتقاضي حتى في النزاعات التجارية الدولية المعقدة وذلك نتيحة لاختصار مراحل وإجراءات التحكيم مما يؤدي إلى تقليل النفقات والتكاليف.
  6. التأهيل الخاص للمحكمين:
     التحكيم يضمن الجودة. ففي الإجراءات القضائية قد لا يتوفر للقاضي التخصص في موضوع النزاع، وبالتالي تكون هناك حاجة لتعيين خبراء في الموضوع. لكن من خلال التحكيم يمكن للأطراف أن يقوموا مباشرة بتعيين محكمين مختصين في مجال موضوع النزاع.
  7. استقلالية الأطراف
     يتيح التحكيم لأطرافه حرية تحديد مسار إجراءات التحكيم وذلك بالاتفاق على المسائل الإجرائية الرئيسية التي يرغبون أن تسير عليها إجراءات التحكيم سواء كانت عن طريق تقديم المذكرات أو من خلال سماع جلسات. كما يجوز للأطراف أيضا تحديد بعض المسائل الأخرى مثل القانون واجب التطبيق ومكان التحكيم وعدد المحكمين ومجالات تخصصهم.​ ​